Notices
2005-2014 Mustangs Discussions on the latest S197 model Mustangs from Ford.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

CAI questions for a newbie

Search this Thread

Old 01-04-2007, 01:27 AM
Mike521
2nd Gear Member

Default CAI questions for a newbie

Hey all, I've been hearing a lot about this CAI stuff since I started reading these forums. I'm no mechanic or car junkie so I don't know anything about these mods, etc.

Anyway so this CAI thing sounds cool, more power and slightly improved gas mileage. I have a few questions that I haven't been able to find the answers to via the search feature, since everyone is usually talking about price / performance gains more so than these

1. what exactly does a CAI do?
2. how much do they cost?
3. can they be installed by someone like me, or does it require a professional installation?
4. what's a tuner? is it a part you put in the car? or is it a tune-up of the computer system, or something?
5. edit: are there any pics around of these things installed?

If someone can point me to an FAQ I missed that answers these basic questions I'd really appreciate it. Thanks!
Old 01-04-2007, 01:33 AM
James Cole
1st Gear Member

Default RE: CAI questions for a newbie

And also how much louder is it?
Old 01-04-2007, 04:30 AM
Sprzout
4th Gear Member

1) CAI Stands for Cold Air Intake. Colder air is more dense than warmer air, providing a better fuel-to-air combustion rate, thus providing more power. This is why you get more oomph out of your car when you drive it on a cold winter night versus driving it on a blazing hot summer day. The CAI helps your car to get cooler air.

2) CAI prices vary depending on whether you get a tuner or not with them. I've seen CAIs for $250, and I've seen them for $750. The more expensive ones come with the tuners, but are worth it. (more about tuners in a minute)