Notices
2005-2014 Mustangs Discussions on the latest S197 model Mustangs from Ford.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

BBR heads

Search this Thread

Old 01-07-2007, 07:05 PM
troyclemens
1st Gear Member

Default BBR heads

about to do some work to wifes 05, vortec, cams, etc. I was seriously considering getting some ported BBr heads. I am new to this mustang stuff, but in big block stuff, and everything else for that matter, it is all in the heads. The flow charts they have up on them show significant flow over stock at everything from .200 and up. Just wondering what you guys think?????
Old 01-07-2007, 07:10 PM
8cd03gro
5th Gear Member

Default RE: BBR heads

I dono if you want to do heads/cams/ and a blower on stock internals...a few people have blown on less than 500rwhp and with that centri properly setup you would be right around there....with heads and cams you would shoot out way past that. is this a daily driver?
Old 01-07-2007, 07:20 PM
CrazyAl
5th Gear Member

Yes, ported heads do flow more than stock. However, there's really no point to adding them in your application:

Any supercharger you can bolt on is capable of making more than enough HP to destroy the stock engine, transmission, and rear end by itself--you don't need the heads! The heads won't be a bottleneck unless you have a seriously built car (forged reciprocating assembly, new transmission, built rear-end, etc)and you're trying to push something like 700 HP or more.

On the other hand, if you're planning on staying naturally aspirated then heads are worth a lot of HP assuming you have the supporting mods (intake, headers, etc.). However, cams will give you a very similar HP gain for less than half the price of the heads.
Old 01-07-2007, 07:37 PM
troyclemens
1st Gear Member