Notices
2005-2014 Mustangs Discussions on the latest S197 model Mustangs from Ford.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

well I suck at shifting when I can't hear the engine

Search this Thread

Old 03-01-2007, 12:43 AM
Mike521
2nd Gear Member

Default well I suck at shifting when I can't hear the engine

I'm new to driving a manual tranny and am only on my 3rd day with the gt (pics coming sunday!), so I can't expect too much, but man do I suck at shifting when I can't hear the engine lol

I mean when I'm listening to music or talking on the cell phone (with hands free device of course). I'm fine at shifting when I can hear the engine and pay attention, but when I have to just guess / go by the tachometer, I suck. I either completely over-rev it (thank you TCS) or I stall it out (you didn't see that)

I guess you get better with time?

edit: btw I'm speaking almost exclusively about going from a complete stop into 1st and up. once I get to 3rd I'm fine even without hearing the engine
Old 03-01-2007, 12:44 AM
blueherd02gt
5th Gear Member

Default RE: well I suck at shifting when I can't hear the engine

Dude I hit the rev limiter twice when I first got my gt, but like everything you'll get used to it
Old 03-01-2007, 12:48 AM
DeStonn
4th Gear Member

What a car to start learning on.
Old 03-01-2007, 12:51 AM
mustangman2424
I ♥ Acer

I learned to drive a stick on a GT too, and it just takes time like anything else.

Kinda off topic, but could you guys imagine trying to learn drive a stick in the streets of San Fransisco? HAHAHA I had enough trouble on flat roads to begin with, and even now I still get a little nervous if i'm on a really steep hill.
Old 03-01-2007, 12:55 AM
mlcrycc
5th Gear Member

You will get used to it, but try paying attention to the tach when you can hear the engine. You will soon learn instinctively to pay attention to the tach without realizing it......

Mike
Old 03-01-2007, 12:57 AM
HypromanGT
3rd Gear Member

ORIGINAL: DeStonn