Notices
2005-2014 Mustangs Discussions on the latest S197 model Mustangs from Ford.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Buying Mustang questions.

Search this Thread

Old 05-21-2007, 03:55 PM
polarfire

Default Buying Mustang questions.

I am new to Mustangs so please forgive any noob questions/remarks. I am looking at buying a used '05 or newer Mustang GT. The options I know I want are manual tranny and 3.55 rear end. I would prefer black with black or the optional red leather interior.

My questions are, what else should I be looking for? Any options I should avoid or are "must haves"? Any problem areas or recalls I should know about? What is the best overall performance package (short of a Rousch or Shelby)? Anything else I should know? Thanks for any info.
Old 05-21-2007, 04:09 PM
bl1nk
5th Gear Member

Default RE: Buying Mustang questions.

Really depends on what you want. If youre not an audiophile Id say the Shaker 1000 or even 500 should be fine for you, but if you want alot of bump or awesome quality then you will want to get just the base radio and then upgrade later. As far as the 3.55s go, theyre great if you dont plan on getting different gears later, but if you plan on changing them out then just save the 100 bucks. IMO, the IUP is a must have. Then of course your choice of wheels, some GTs come with 18s and some with 17s. Theres a few major problems, one being leaking on the passenger side, and another a thumping noise in the suspension, but they are hit and miss, and all covered under warranty. Few TSBs as well, all which can be fixed free under warranty. All things that can be overlooked though, because the car is just amazing.
Old 05-21-2007, 04:13 PM
Jays Mustang
3rd Gear Member