Notices
2005-2014 Mustangs Discussions on the latest S197 model Mustangs from Ford.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Torque Wrench

Search this Thread

Old 06-27-2007, 12:15 PM
WhoMe
2nd Gear Member

Default Torque Wrench

Im very new to working on cars. My 07 Stang is the first new/nice car Ive ever owned and I want to work on it myself. So Im building my tool collection up and Im ready to buy a torque wrench. Problem is I have no idea what to get; there are different sizes and kindswith prices ranging from20 to 200 dollars. Do you guys reccommend a specific brand/size/model?

My first intended use is to take my wheels off and put them back on, so I can paint my calipers. I read the ole arm crank-o-meter is insuffient for that.
Old 06-27-2007, 12:30 PM
Fourth Horseman
2nd Gear Member

Default RE: Torque Wrench

I have two that I bought from Sears that I've had for years. One is inch-pounds and is smaller, one is foot-pounds and larger. There are certainly better tools out there, but these have served me well and never given my any problems. I've used them both extensively when working on my cars, but I use the big one most often for tightening lug nuts. Very handy and a good investment.
Old 06-27-2007, 12:41 PM
ohnoesaz
5th Gear Member

I've never used a torque wrench.

Also, my new intake manifold leaked on my Jaguar, and my new lower control arms clunk on my Mustang.

In other words, a torque wrench is a nice investment.
Old 06-27-2007, 01:06 PM
A_J
2nd Gear Member

Starting with the cheapest is the needle guage type - the main bar of the torque wrench flexes, and there's a needle guage on the side that takes the deflection and gives torque readings. These will do in a pinch, but in my experience they aren't terribly accurate and will eventually get out of whack.