Notices
2005-2014 Mustangs Discussions on the latest S197 model Mustangs from Ford.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

saleen short throw help!!!

Search this Thread

Old 08-02-2007, 01:56 PM
harraid5711
3rd Gear Member

Default saleen short throw help!!!

i'm still new to the mod bug and i need you guys' opinion. i just received my saleen short throw adapter and am itching to put it in. my mechanic can't get to it till tuesday and i don't think i can wait.......my question, honestly, can a guy with moderate mechanical skills, deep sockets, wrenches, and a pair of jack stands get the job done?? i'm also wanting to put in the steeda shifter bushings as well.i've read many other posts, and these guys make it sound like a snap, but i don't wanna get in over my head. i'm no mechanic, but i did install my own axle-backs no prob!! thanks for your input
Old 08-02-2007, 02:07 PM
Simon1
5th Gear Member

Default RE: saleen short throw help!!!

It shouldn't be too hard. I put in my PRO5.0 without taking the drive line out. It's not rocket sceince and you should have no problem. Just go slow and follow directions.
Old 08-02-2007, 03:13 PM
157dB
Cut & Paste Expert

There is a rite up on it.
Search.
I installed it and bushings in about an hour.
Taco.
https://mustangforums.com/m_3079059/tm.htm
Old 08-02-2007, 03:17 PM
lldsandsll
4th Gear Member

god bless tb.

i just got mine in the mail today too!!! i cant wait!
Old 08-02-2007, 04:03 PM
TacoBill
2nd Gear Member

Just a reminder from my write-up...

* Loctite the OEM nut that goes on the shift linkage stud pin. Use caution when tightening this nut, DO NOT OVER TORQUE IT! I only brought the nut down until it made contact with the plastic bushing, then gave it an additional 1/8 turn. If you tighten this nut too much, it'll make shifting (into the gates) very difficult.
* Let the Loctite dry before any extended shifting drive.