Notices
2005-2014 Mustangs Discussions on the latest S197 model Mustangs from Ford.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

A manual in traffic

Search this Thread

Old 12-05-2007, 03:42 PM
sliek0722
2nd Gear Member

Default A manual in traffic

I was going to post this as a reply in another thread but I think this is a topic that is worthy of discussion because its always been a burning question to me:

Why is there a stigma that manuals suck in traffic or people hestitate to buy a manual because of city driving? I've been driving a manual for almost ten years and I can honestly say that driving in the city doesn't affect me whatsoever.

I don't even think when I'm driving my car. I do it on autopilot. When I shift from 2nd to 3rd I don't think, "I'm revving at 2500, time to shift" I'm thinking "Boy I would love some mashed potatos with gravy while watching Family Guy tonight" while my body shifts the car for me. I don't worry about stalling out at green lights because I stall out maybe once every six months. I don't have any problems moving the car in first gear and I don't burn the clutch the slightest bit. City driving and traffic do not affect me whatsoever (ok traffic makes me mad but not because I have to shift lol).

And the advantages? I control the car when I want! I can rev high, rev low, slow down easier and have more fun.
Old 12-05-2007, 03:44 PM
oh6vee6
2nd Gear Member

Default RE: A manual in traffic

ORIGINAL: sliek0722

I was going to post this as a reply in another thread but I think this is a topic that is worthy of discussion because its always been a burning question to me:

Why is there a stigma that manuals suck in traffic or people hestitate to buy a manual because of city driving? I've been driving a manual for almost ten years and I can honestly say that driving in the city doesn't affect me whatsoever.