Notices
2005-2014 Mustangs Discussions on the latest S197 model Mustangs from Ford.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

2005 & Newer Maintenance/Reliability

Search this Thread

Old 02-21-2009, 06:38 PM
satur9poet
2nd Gear Member

Question 2005 & Newer Maintenance/Reliability

Noob here. I'm seriously considering purchasing my first Mustang this year. I've always loved the way these cars look and drive, and some of my friends have 'stangs and absolutely adore them.

I'm not interested right this moment in fancy mods and gear; what I mostly want is a nice reliable car that's fun to drive that's also not an endless money pit. The most likely model I'm considering is the V6 automatic due to insurance costs and gas.

So, how reliable are these cars? How are they maintenance-wise? What kinds of problems have you encountered with your car? What should I be on the lookout for when car shopping? I don't want to get stuck with a POS!

Thanks muchly for your responses!
Old 02-21-2009, 07:06 PM
Xeno
'Dr. X'

i bought my '05 used, and i am usually a little leery about buying a car that has been completely re-vamped for that year. but so far, i have had no 'major' problems with it. i've had a couple of the tsb's done on it, but the newer models pretty much have the problems the tsb's cover fixed. overall, unless you buy a lemon, you shouldn't have much if any problems

i will say, check the insurance rate for a gt, depending on your age, it may not be that much of a difference from a v6 (i was 22/23 when i traded my 02 v6 for my current 05 gt, and the difference was only about 100 bucks a year). plus, the gt's don't really get that much worse gas mileage (i have a long term average of 17 city).

good luck
Old 02-21-2009, 07:20 PM
fosman77
2nd Gear Member

Get the 4.6
Old 02-21-2009, 07:29 PM
Nuke
6th Gear Member

First off, the GT gets only about 2 MPG less than the V6. I average about 22 -23 MPG with about 90% highway driving. I think you'll be sorry if you don't get the GT.