Notices
2005-2014 Mustangs Discussions on the latest S197 model Mustangs from Ford.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

How to get there

Search this Thread

Old 03-27-2009, 09:18 AM
highline
4th Gear Member

Default How to get there

I have a 2009 GT/CS with 1104 miles...dead stock. I want to get here (cams with that old school sound, UDPs and CAI/Tune), but have a few questions on sequence, ect.

After reading the great writeup/how-to on cams, I know that I cannot install them myself (and am frustrated). I am new to the Houston area, and don't know/trust any installers/tuners...

1. Will the FRPP cams get me that sound, as ford could install them? Low end power loss?

2. CAI coming from Breenspeed w/tune...do they have tunes to include cams (do I need to tune for cams)?

That is really the extent of the mods I want to do...Here's where I am currently at...stock (5spd, 3.55s)..w do I reach my destination...suggestions?
Old 03-27-2009, 09:34 AM
shanec
4th Gear Member

You are in luck. Run, don't walk to DynoJoe - dynojoe.com This guy is in Houston and he is one of the best there is with FRPP cams. I may drive there myself one day from Brandon, MS (about 8 hrs) if I decide to put cams on.

Have you ordered from Brenspeed yet? You may get your best deal getting all this stuff at once from Dynojoe. Dynojoe is going to have to re-tune your car anyway after the cam install.
Old 03-27-2009, 09:58 AM
acascianelli
5th Gear Member

I recommend you add some exhaust parts to your list too. Ideally long tube headers, high flow cats, and some axle-backs; but if you don't have the money at least a different set of axle-backs.
Old 03-27-2009, 12:02 PM
highline
4th Gear Member

Awesome, thanks guys...will the FRPP cams (and maybe axle backs...not going anywhere near rice fart cans tho) give me the sound I want (or close, I realize this is not a 69 mach I 428 cobra jet)...