Notices
2005-2014 Mustangs Discussions on the latest S197 model Mustangs from Ford.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

What do you use to wash her?

Search this Thread

Old 06-22-2009, 09:57 AM
abecker

Default What do you use to wash her?

So I've recently had a bad experience with automatic car washes. It got stuck with my brand new '09 GT in it. Needless to say that car wash gave me a refund and plenty of free car washes. However, I'll never drive it in there again :P

So what do you guys use to wash her and make her look shiny? (and where do you get it?)

Thanks
Old 06-22-2009, 10:02 AM
ptaylor_9849
2nd Gear Member

With all due respect I'm a professional detailer and you are doing more harm than good going to a car wash UNLESS it's a touchless wash. Those scrubbing and spinning bristles swirl the HECK out of your finish which will then require a buffer to remove. Stay away from car washes and wash it yourself if possible in your driveway with a good car wash with plenty of lubricity and a soft microfiber cloth or sheepskin mitt. Then use an electric leaf blower to blow out all the nooks and crannies. Improper washing is responsible for the majority of swirled finishes.

Last edited by ptaylor_9849; 06-22-2009 at 10:04 AM.
Old 06-22-2009, 10:04 AM
OhioState87
2nd Gear Member

To wash her, I use Meguiar's Gold Class Car Wash Shampoo & Conditioner. For detailing, well, a lot more products are involved.
Old 06-22-2009, 10:13 AM
abecker

Originally Posted by ptaylor_9849