Notices
2005-2014 Mustangs Discussions on the latest S197 model Mustangs from Ford.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Need help with 08 GT Mods!!!

Search this Thread

Old 01-25-2010, 09:40 PM
mavfan4344

Default Need help with 08 GT Mods!!!

Hello Everyone! I am new to the Mustang Family and need some help. I just purchased a 08 Ford Mustang GT Convertible. As far as appearance, I know exactly what I am going to do! I need help under the hood. I don't want to throw thousands and thousands of dollars into the engine (YET), I just want to do some "Starter Mods" for the car. Like Exhaust, Cold Air Intake, etc. But I don't have any idea what name brands I should go with. I need help!!! I was thinking Magnaflow or Borla for the exhaust. And JLT for the intake. Long or short tube headers? X-Pipe? Any suggestions would be great. Thanks in advance!!!
Old 01-25-2010, 09:48 PM
Nuke
6th Gear Member

Lot's of info throughout the forum, especially in the stickies.

A stand-alone CAI is barely worth the effort; maybe 4-6 RWHP. A CAI & tune combo will gain about 20-25 RWHP. After that it's nickle and dime stuff unless you go FI. You'll gain no performance with any exhaust mods beyond the H-pipe.

Adding 25 or more RWHP will require some suspension improvements in order to hook-up.
Old 01-25-2010, 10:20 PM
mavfan4344

Okay, thanks for the info! Like I was saying I am new to the Mustang World. Now, this might sound like a dumb question, but what does FI stand for? So, no performance gain beyond the H-pipe?!? Does that mean I need to up grade to a X-pipe? and or headers?
Old 01-25-2010, 11:50 PM
UpTo11
3rd Gear Member