Notices
2005-2014 Mustangs Discussions on the latest S197 model Mustangs from Ford.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

bassani exhaust

Search this Thread

Old 07-22-2010, 02:39 PM
dray06GT

Question bassani exhaust

i recently purchased an 06 Gt. it hd bassani axleback already and came with the xpipe. when i installed the x pipe i now have a rattle somewhere, but my biggest issue is the service engine light came on. is this normal, the xpipe does have the small cats. i'm new to the 4.6 world so any advice would be appreciated
Old 07-22-2010, 02:45 PM
Cal26Stang
5th Gear Member

I would reccommend getting a tuner, that way you can clear your trouble codes, until you get it properly tuned. As far as the rattle goes, its ford quality, just go underneath your car, look for any pipe hitting frame or loose bolts. Be sure to check your x pipe to see if you put it in upside down like I did. I flipped it and the rattle went away...After checking all of that, if you don't find the problem, let me know.

Just cause a pipe fits up, doesn't meant its 100%...Over time the vibrations will cause the rattling to get worse.
Old 07-22-2010, 02:57 PM
Blacksmoke
The Paranoid One

Originally Posted by Cal26Stang
I would reccommend getting a tuner, that way you can clear your trouble codes, until you get it properly tuned. As far as the rattle goes, its ford quality, just go underneath your car, look for any pipe hitting frame or loose bolts. Be sure to check your x pipe to see if you put it in upside down like I did. I flipped it and the rattle went away...After checking all of that, if you don't find the problem, let me know.

Just cause a pipe fits up, doesn't meant its 100%...Over time the vibrations will cause the rattling to get worse.

How would you tell if the pipe was upside down? Just look for some labeling or something?
Also how in the heck are you doing SLP loudmouths with long tubes and an x pipe?