Notices
2005-2014 Mustangs Discussions on the latest S197 model Mustangs from Ford.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Valve spring compressor?

Search this Thread

Old 10-07-2010, 04:22 AM
LinkWilliams
1st Gear Member

Default Valve spring compressor?

Ok just a quick thought.... Im replacing the cams in the car today and I keep hearing about this valve spring compressor. I understand the idea behind it but Im just wondering of its importance in the job. I am a Technician by trade (not Ford) been working on overhead cam engines for years and i have yet to remove a follower before taking a cam out. As long as i removed the bearing caps little by little, I have never had a problem. Is Ford different, can you not do a cam replace WITHOUT the spring compressor? Please let me know as i plan on doing the job today WITHOUT the compressor.
Old 10-07-2010, 07:26 AM
BruceH
5th Gear Member

Originally Posted by LinkWilliams
Ok just a quick thought.... Im replacing the cams in the car today and I keep hearing about this valve spring compressor. I understand the idea behind it but Im just wondering of its importance in the job. I am a Technician by trade (not Ford) been working on overhead cam engines for years and i have yet to remove a follower before taking a cam out. As long as i removed the bearing caps little by little, I have never had a problem. Is Ford different, can you not do a cam replace WITHOUT the spring compressor? Please let me know as i plan on doing the job today WITHOUT the compressor.
It's been done the way you are planning. I would be interested in a follow up with some pics if you can.
Old 10-07-2010, 08:02 AM
LinkWilliams
1st Gear Member

Originally Posted by BruceH
It's been done the way you are planning. I would be interested in a follow up with some pics if you can.
Im going to do it today, ill take some pics for you
Old 10-07-2010, 08:42 AM
incorrigible
2nd Gear Member

I'd be very careful. Cams are brittle
Old 10-07-2010, 10:41 AM
timmbo
3rd Gear Member