Notices
2005-2014 Mustangs Discussions on the latest S197 model Mustangs from Ford.

remote start?

Old 10-27-2010, 11:18 AM
  #1  
davs5
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: TX
Posts: 8
Default remote start?

thinking about ordering the remote start for my 2011 gt im about to order, should i get it? ive heard some good and bad stuff about it.
davs5 is offline  
Old 10-27-2010, 11:53 AM
  #2  
outceltj
5th Gear Member
 
outceltj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: IN
Posts: 2,132
Default

If u do u need to have it installed correctly. There was a guy on this forum that had his mustang in the dealership for a routine maintence and when he went to pick it up it was in the pond. I believe it was a manual and the mechanic thought he had pressed the lock button and it infact started the car and then without realizing it drove itself into the rentention pond. I think he had the car in gear and did not have the emergency brake pulled. With the correct install u should only be able to start the car with the ebrake pulled but this guy had it so u didnt have to have ebrake pulled. Long story short the guy tried to get a new car out of the deal but since he incorrectly installed the push button mod he DID NOT.
outceltj is offline  
Old 10-27-2010, 11:56 AM
  #3  
Nuke
6th Gear Member
 
Nuke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: PA to KY ('07) to IL ('09) to MS ('10) to FL ('11)
Posts: 16,186
Default

What outceltj said above...
Nuke is offline  
Old 10-27-2010, 11:59 AM
  #4  
Norm Peterson
6th Gear Member
 
Norm Peterson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: state of confusion
Posts: 7,563
Default

Are you talking about Ford's own system or aftermarket? Ford's is with AT only.


Personally, I question the value to risk factor on any of these. Especially on aftermarket systems set up on manual transmission cars. You can always just leave the windows cracked a fraction of an inch . . .


Norm
Norm Peterson is offline  
Old 10-27-2010, 12:03 PM
  #5  
Toxix
2nd Gear Member
 
Toxix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 417
Default

I've got a remote started on my 4.0 - The Clifford 590.2x (youtube it, pretty cool) - Works like a charm, paired that up w/ a Proximity sensor as well (car got keyed back to front) - Had no issues at all. The install took a good 5 hours though. Can you be a bit more specific? Is this the Factory Remote Starter or an After Market one?
Toxix is offline  
Old 10-27-2010, 02:11 PM
  #6  
davs5
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: TX
Posts: 8
Default

yea im talking bout the factory (ford) oh and im also getting it automatic, i thought its a good deal since its only $300 extra
davs5 is offline  
Old 10-27-2010, 04:12 PM
  #7  
157dB
Cut & Paste Expert
 
157dB's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NW Arkansas
Posts: 13,322
Default

The aftermarket remote start ended up in the lake.
Ford did not honor the damage claim since it was
improperly installed on a manual tranny stang...
Like handing a kid a loaded gun and hoping he does
not injure himself or others (someone could have
been standing in front of the driverless stang,
soon to be a boat then a submarine).
The neutral position switch and the hand brake switch
inputs had been by-passed by the owner/installer.
It worked fine for the owner/installer who knew how to
'properly activate it' but the stealership didnt know
the 'proper procedure' and it ended up in the lake
across the street from the dealership sans driver...

Last edited by 157dB; 10-27-2010 at 04:15 PM.
157dB is offline  
Old 10-27-2010, 04:57 PM
  #8  
yellowblz11
1st Gear Member
 
yellowblz11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Delaware
Posts: 62
Default

i had a viper remote/alarm on my 99 auto. had the analog display pager, worked great for 4 years, worth the money!
yellowblz11 is offline  
Old 10-30-2010, 11:07 PM
  #9  
KrzyRage
1st Gear Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 64
Default

I have an Autopage remote start and works great. And it was correctly installed. You have to have the car in neutral and parking brake up to engage and then you pull the key out and it will keep the car running until you get out and close the driver door and the engine will shut off.
KrzyRage is offline  
Old 10-31-2010, 12:52 AM
  #10  
Tylus
5th Gear Member
 
Tylus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 2,211
Default

$300 for the Remote Start on an Auto is a pretty decent price.


just be aware it isn't a "factory" item. Ford typically uses a Code Alarm remote start. Decent brand, but it requires you to use a 2nd tiny little remote ontop of the normal 4 button remote that all cars come with. so it would be kinda annoying IMO to carry 2 remote fobs.


I would instead visit a Audio Shop and have them install a whole new alarm system and remote start. Be $500 or less for the whole setup. Then you get a much more functional setup with a longer range. The OEM Ford remotes have a ****ty range




edit: And getting a Remote Start on a stick is just stupid
Tylus is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: remote start?


Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.