Notices
2005-2014 Mustangs Discussions on the latest S197 model Mustangs from Ford.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

V6 in the Winter

Search this Thread

Old 01-28-2011, 12:22 PM
SVT_Cobra_96

Default V6 in the Winter

Hey all, i got some questions about the V6 for a daily driver in the winter.
Ive got a 96 Cobra that sits in the garage all winter and i miss driving it. So i am looking for v-6 as a daily driver, i live in CT so we get some snow (this year mor than usual).
I am wondering if anyone else has a v6 that they drive all year and how it handles.
I am looking for a manual, i am guessing that may help some, plus manual if more fun in a mustang.
I am planning to put snow tires on it as well, and weigh the back end down some.
The other big question i have is with the 2011, Ford is claiming it is the first truely all season mustang, is that true? What have they done different in the 2011 vs 2005-2010 that makes it that much better as an all season car....or is it marketing bs. If i go the 2011 route i will be going the most basic model, no bells or whistles.
If anyone has some input or expreinces on a v6 as an all year car in all types of weather (primarly the snow) i would appreciate it. Keep in mind, i avoid going in the snow unless i have to...pretty much work and home if needed, otherwise if it snows i stay home.
Old 01-28-2011, 12:31 PM
JimC

Lots of threads on this - I don't know why people get so uptight about driving a RWD in the snow though. When I got my license in 1969 almost every car was RWD. We get lots of snow here in SE Michigan and none of us sat at home all winter.

I drive my 2006 every single day - the odometer has over 163,000 miles on it right now. I drive in all kinds of weather, and have a 45 mile commute - just last week I drove home in a raging blizzard with white out conditions