Notices
2005-2014 Mustangs Discussions on the latest S197 model Mustangs from Ford.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Yep, another thread asking for mod opinions

Search this Thread

Old 04-11-2011, 08:47 PM
MadStang40
4th Gear Member

Default Yep, another thread asking for mod opinions

Hi all, I've got a question for ya'll.

Being a college student, my bank account is very sensitive to the rising gas prices we are currently experiencing. I've saved for a few months and now have enough for 3.73s and a t-loc along with install. As these prices increase, this mod is starting to look more and more sketchy as time goes on. My options are as follows:

1) Go along with the purchase and install. If my weekly commute is typically 100-150 miles highway with another 50 miles city, how much of a hit do you reckon I'll take?

2) A few exterior mods. I'm currently looking at a rear aluminum louver, clear side markers, clear turn signals, interior colored trim (Mrmikes.com), and headlight splitters.

I'm open to other options besides F/I. These will be my last upgrades before saving up everything for a nice down payment on a 2011 or 2012 5.0 upon graduation.

Thanks everyone.
Old 04-11-2011, 09:17 PM
MustangMan1718
1st Gear Member

I will be gladly following this thread as I am about in the same exact situation. I have vowed that my last thing I will buy for my current '05 v6 will be new tires (bought a set of 17" bullitts with a moderate amount of tread left off Craigslist recently for cheap). However, that grille you have is quite nice and I have debated it for quite some time. I may end up stretching my final mod list just a tiny bit.
Old 04-11-2011, 09:19 PM
SpartaPerformance
4th Gear Member

How about a 1 piece aluminum drive shaft, the good ones are expensive however they'll free up around 5-8 rwhp across the entire RPM range without any ill effects on fuel economy.
Old 04-11-2011, 09:35 PM
MadStang40
4th Gear Member

Originally Posted by SpartaPerformance