Notices
2005-2014 Mustangs Discussions on the latest S197 model Mustangs from Ford.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Accidentally Started Automatic Tranny in 3rd Gear?

Search this Thread

Old 11-01-2011, 12:45 PM
SD 197
2nd Gear Member

Default Accidentally Started Automatic Tranny in 3rd Gear?

Well, I’m new to automatics, at least on Mustangs, and for some reason, I was always under the impression that if you leave the tranny in 3rd gear, at a stop it will shift down to first but not shift above 3rd.
On the Mustang, it appears that if you shift to 3rd, it locks into gear and will not change up or down!

I realized it of course when I took off that I was still in 3rd, but it was surprisingly smooth and didn’t seem to bother the car any. But I won’t be making a habit of it that’s for sure.

I just hope that doing so didn’t do any damage or major strain to the drivetrain?

Anybody else experience this?
Old 11-01-2011, 01:24 PM
scottybaccus
2nd Gear Member

I would expect it to downshift to first when you stop. If you have 60k - 80k miles, I suggest a good trans service. I don't know Ford automatics, but I would be suspicious of shift solenoids in any late model GM that didn't return to first in this scenario.

You didn't hurt anything. Be more concerned with this as a symptom of another problem.
Old 11-01-2011, 01:30 PM
SD 197
2nd Gear Member

Originally Posted by scottybaccus
I would expect it to downshift to first when you stop. If you have 60k - 80k miles, I suggest a good trans service. I don't know Ford automatics, but I would be suspicious of shift solenoids in any late model GM that didn't return to first in this scenario.

You didn't hurt anything. Be more concerned with this as a symptom of another problem.
Yup, I just spoke with a Ford tech at my local dealership, apparently if you leave it in 3rd gear, it is designed to be "locked" into that gear. It will not shift down to first at a stop.