Notices
2005-2014 Mustangs Discussions on the latest S197 model Mustangs from Ford.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

O2 sensor issue from exhaust

Search this Thread

Old 05-16-2012, 02:50 PM
CoCo V6

Question O2 sensor issue from exhaust

ok guys so here is the big question:

I have a hole burnt in the line of my O2 sensor from the aftermarket dual saleen exhaust I installed on my 08 V6. Now every time I pump gas it spits some back at me, however today it didn't do it. Some friends told me that it shouldn't be an issue if I don't mind my check engine light being on. Is this true?

I just spent a crap ton of money on new mods for my baby (new subs, new bbk shorty headers, new intake) and I really don't want to spend the money on a new O2 sensor and having it installed (I've never done one before, but I think I could if someone explained it to me.)

Please offer some advice!

Thanks, Jessica <3
Old 05-16-2012, 04:53 PM
Sequence

buy a new o2 sensor and locate where the burnt one runs... follow the line disconnect it and install the new one the same way the old one was....

i dont know mustang specific for I dont have one but my past 3 vehicles were easy to install o2 sensors...
Old 05-16-2012, 05:49 PM
Entaille
4th Gear Member

so you're okay with spending money on modding the car how you want it, but not on fixing the things you're breaking?

that sounds like a recipe to hate your car in the not too distant future.
Old 05-16-2012, 05:54 PM
onederful100
6th Gear Member

where exactly is the hole burnt?
its spitting gas back at you?
do you have cats?
tuner?
O2 sensor is bad, or you just dont have a tune for the exhaust?
whats the CEL for?

just trying to understand the question 1st.
welcome to MF, btw.
Old 05-17-2012, 07:47 AM
CoCo V6

Originally Posted by Entaille
so you're okay with spending money on modding the car how you want it, but not on fixing the things you're breaking?

that sounds like a recipe to hate your car in the not too distant future.