Notices
2005-2014 Mustangs Discussions on the latest S197 model Mustangs from Ford.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

150K Miles - What Service I Do To Keep It Forever?

Search this Thread

Old 12-17-2012, 11:43 AM
JoshyGT
3rd Gear Member

Default 150K Miles - What Service I Do To Keep It Forever?

Hello again, long time no post.

I just rolled 150K miles on my beauty and have some extra cash to put into it for preventative and basic maintenance. I'm at a point now in the ownership of this vehicle where I'm more concerned with fuel economy and lifetime than I am performance upgrades (existing upgrades listed in sig).

All four tires are nearly new but I will need brakes. I have pretty good knowledge of vehicles and services done to vehicles but I'm no expert.

My question is this: at this mileage, what services would you recommend to ensure my vehicle lasts another 150K without unexpected major service?

I was thinking:
  • fuel filter (last replaced over 60K miles ago)
  • brake fluid exchange (I'm not a big believer in "wallet flushes" but with high miles it may be good to have fresh fluid)
  • clutch replacement
  • injector service (I use only Shell 93 octane and have been since 20K miles)
  • replace serpentine belt
  • replace rotors (They may have one more "turn" in them but I'd rather be safe than sorry)
  • swap out spark plugs (last replaced at 100K miles)

I'm not sure if any of this is valuable or if I'm missing something important. Thoughts?

Thanks!
Old 12-17-2012, 02:17 PM
Derf00
Gentleman's Relish

Originally Posted by JoshyGT
Hello again, long time no post.

I just rolled 150K miles on my beauty and have some extra cash to put into it for preventative and basic maintenance. I'm at a point now in the ownership of this vehicle where I'm more concerned with fuel economy and lifetime than I am performance upgrades (existing upgrades listed in sig).