TPMS Training not complete - MustangForums.com

Go Back  MustangForums.com > Ford Mustang Tech > 2005-2014 Mustangs
Reload this Page >

TPMS Training not complete

Notices
2005-2014 Mustangs Discussions on the latest S197 model Mustangs from Ford.

TPMS Training not complete

Reply

 
 
 
Old 11-23-2013, 04:11 PM
  #1  
vidit10
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Northern VA (DC Area)
Posts: 7
Default TPMS Training not complete

Hey guys,

First post here.

I bought a v6 in 2009 - and love it.

Few weeks ago the tire pressure light came on with the error message - "Tire Pressure Sensor Fault". I purchased the training tool and tried to train the sensors. 3 sensors will get trained and I will hear the honk for successful training - the last tire (Driver Rear) will not honk - and after some time i will hear 2 honks and the display reads something like "Training not complete, re-train".

Do I need new sensor? If yes, should I replace all 4?
vidit10 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2013, 07:52 PM
  #2  
AzPete
4th Gear Member
 
AzPete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Panama City, FL
Posts: 1,214
Default

Sounds like you need to replace just one sensor....then train them all. I would suggest Fords sensor vs after market.
AzPete is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2013, 09:20 PM
  #3  
SpartaPerformance
4th Gear Member
 
SpartaPerformance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 1,291
Default

Originally Posted by AzPete View Post
Sounds like you need to replace just one sensor....then train them all. I would suggest Fords sensor vs after market.
I agree.
SpartaPerformance is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2013, 01:36 AM
  #4  
vidit10
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Northern VA (DC Area)
Posts: 7
Default

Thanks for the quick reply!

While shopping for sensors, I see two types:
1 - a large (chocolate bar sized) sensor that fits around the rim with a band
2 - something that fits at the end of the valve stem.

Do you know which one is the OEM?

If I can ask for favor - can someone paste a link for the sensor you suggested (Advanced Auto, Auto Zone, Amazon, etc.)

Thanks again.
vidit10 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2013, 08:48 AM
  #5  
wcgman
5th Gear Member
 
wcgman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Colorado
Posts: 2,652
Default

You need the valve stem based sensor. It's a whole unit. Too bad you're in VA. I have 4 sittin in the garage and I'd hook you up if you were close. http://www.americanmuscle.com/tpms-sensor-band-kit.html is the sensor and http://www.americanmuscle.com/tpms-tool.html is the tool. The tool from AM is Ford OEM but I don't know that the TPMS sensor itself is. I've used these TPMS before with zero issues so I have no reservations recommending them.
wcgman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2013, 02:11 PM
  #6  
Art161
4th Gear Member
 
Art161's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: California
Posts: 1,495
Default

I think the band type sensor was OE from 2007-2009.
Art161 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2013, 06:33 PM
  #7  
Moronix
1st Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 56
Default

The sensors are battery operated and you cannot replace just the battery. The batteries typically last about 5 years. When one goes it's an indication that they are all about to go.
Moronix is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2013, 11:08 PM
  #8  
vidit10
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Northern VA (DC Area)
Posts: 7
Default

Originally Posted by Moronix View Post
The sensors are battery operated and you cannot replace just the battery. The batteries typically last about 5 years. When one goes it's an indication that they are all about to go.
Hmm.. That would mean that I should get all 4.
I have to get new tires mounted anyway, so maybe this is the right time to replace all 4 sensors.
vidit10 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2013, 11:51 AM
  #9  
NTO_GUY
Former Sponsor
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Indiana
Posts: 724
Default

For your car it is the band and sensor type. Since yours is the V6 OEM is a 17" band with sensor.
NTO_GUY is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2013, 11:59 AM
  #10  
vidit10
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Northern VA (DC Area)
Posts: 7
Default

Thanks NTO,

Do I need to buy band again - or should I get the valve stem sensor. Seems like Valve Stem sensors are easier to deal with (and are a bit cheaper). If I can do either (and still have my trainer tool work with them) - is there any advantage of one over the other?

I appreciate the response I am getting from this community.
vidit10 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: TPMS Training not complete


Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.