Notices
2005-2014 Mustangs Discussions on the latest S197 model Mustangs from Ford.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Clear Bra installation on an 06 GT

Search this Thread

Old 01-22-2006, 02:00 AM
joshmckin

Default Clear Bra installation on an 06 GT

This week I finally install a clear bra for my 2006 mustang GT. I am a clear bra kit designer and installer by trade and actually design this kit.

I chose to use the Avery Denison top coated film for the upper (hood, fenders, headlights, a-pillars and the front impact area of the roof) and Avery’s non-coated for the bumper. The coated film is about 7-8 mils including the adhesive and topcoat; the non-coated is about 6 mils. Both films are a type for high strength urethane, (like most quality ppf (paint protection films)), which absorbers miner impacts from small road debris. The top coated film has a hirer gloss than the non-coated and requires less maintenance do to the coating sealing the normally porous surface, but also costs more and requires more attention when installing to ensure the edges lay down.

The hood has about 24 inches of coverage at the edges but swoops down towards the center to follow the lines of the car. This swoops allows for much better coverage on the fenders than might normally be seen with other kits that normally are straight across. The roof piece is about 6 inches wide and matches the height of the a-pillars. Finally the bumper is completely covered for edge to edge.

I chose to up ppf on the headlights rather than the thinker 20 mil pvc material that is available from some other companies because the pvc has a tendency to shrink over time, which can leaving a nasty adhesive / dirt line around the edge of the film. Yes the pvc is stronger than the ppf simply because it is 20 mils rather than 8 and I do recommend to for any who races. But I do not race (currently) and these newer urethane ppf films are more than durable enough to protect the headlights from most common small impacts.