Notices
2010-current S197 Appearance Section For all appearance mods to the 2010-2014 S197's

What do I really need to lower 2014 Mustang GT

Search this Thread

Old 03-31-2013, 08:55 PM
Evil2014GT

Default What do I really need to lower 2014 Mustang GT

Hello all, I am the proud new owner of a 2014 GT, and am currently trying to decide on what I need to lower it. Although I am new to the S197 scene, I have spent the last several years doing alot of modding on the LS1/LS6 f-bodies, and just traded in my 2004 GTO for the GT.
Anyway, I know this subject has proabably been beat to death, but after using the search button I have been getting a TON of mixed feedback on what is needed to properly lower this car. I am looking for a nice 1.25-1.5 TOPS drop all the way around just to get rid of the lift kit look that these cars have stock. I already have 19 inch AMR rims, with 245 in the front and 275 in the rear. The car will not see the track at all, and is currently my daily driver. So I am mainly lowering it only for appearance with a bit of spirited driving purposes. I have already decided to get the adjustable camber bolts, as well as an adjustable panhard bar to center the rear. Is there anything else that is truely recommended for what Im using the car for? Will the stock shocks/struts be ok with an 1.25 drop?
Attached Thumbnails What do I really need to lower 2014 Mustang GT-20130329_194219.jpg  
Old 03-31-2013, 09:21 PM
Gary Ugarek
4th Gear Member

What you really need is patience and money. Plus a set of K Springs doesn't hurt.
Old 03-31-2013, 09:26 PM
Evil2014GT

thanks.....answers a lot.
Old 04-01-2013, 12:20 AM
07BLACKGT
5th Gear Member

If you want to get it done as cheaply as possible, then you can do a 1.25 drop without replacing shocks/struts. Consequences of that will be ****tier ride quality (more harsh over bumps, bouncier rear end, etc). Factory shocks/struts will wear out quicker, but I wouldn't think it would be too bad on a 1.25" drop.