3rd brake light - MustangForums.com



3.7L V6 Technical Discussions Any questions about the new engine, transmission, exhaust, tuners/CAI, or gearing can be asked here!

Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-11-2017, 02:10 PM   #1  
ucinn
3rd Gear Member
Thread Starter
 
ucinn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Ohio
Posts: 568
Default 3rd brake light

All my lights are working except the 3rd brake light Checked for power at the plug and am not getting any. Cant find any fuse listed for the 3rd brake light. Can't find a wiring schematic anywhere. any help with this would be appreciated.
ucinn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2017, 04:33 PM   #2  
Siber Express
3rd Gear Member
 
Siber Express's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Clinton, Tennessee
Posts: 641
Default

Siber Express is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2017, 08:11 PM   #3  
ucinn
3rd Gear Member
Thread Starter
 
ucinn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Ohio
Posts: 568
Default

Thank you so much siber, looks like it comes straight from the body control module to the lamps Would you happen to know where the body control module is? It doesn't show any fuse which I find very odd unless it's inside the control module itself.
ucinn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2017, 11:57 AM   #4  
ucinn
3rd Gear Member
Thread Starter
 
ucinn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Ohio
Posts: 568
Default

OK, getting power from the brake light switch to Body Control Module...$200 for a new one. Here's my idea...Jump the control box all togther and go straight from the brake switch to the 3rd brake light...does anybody foresee any problems doing this? I took the box apart and all that's in there are some resistors and IC's..no fuses.
ucinn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2017, 02:59 PM   #5  
Siber Express
3rd Gear Member
 
Siber Express's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Clinton, Tennessee
Posts: 641
Default

Did you check both fuses going to the BCM?
Other than that you could bypass it and put an inline fuse in there for a guarantee.
Siber Express is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2017, 03:19 PM   #6  
ucinn
3rd Gear Member
Thread Starter
 
ucinn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Ohio
Posts: 568
Default

Yes, if either one of those fuses go, there would be no brake lights at all on any of them. I did just bypass the BCM by jumping pin 19 (from brake switch) to pin 18(output to 3rd brake light) and everything is working perfectly right now. I'll chime back in if I come across any problems with this set up. Thanks for all the help.. i just love this forum.
ucinn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2017, 06:12 PM   #7  
ucinn
3rd Gear Member
Thread Starter
 
ucinn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Ohio
Posts: 568
Default

Well, after a month or so f working, it started blowing the brake light fuse, so took off the jumper and back to no 3rd brake light. Checked the 3rd brake light and the plug where it connects to the LED board was loose, so replaed 3rd brake light and BCM, worked for a few weeks and now I'm back to square one again with no 3rd light and a blown BCM. Took apart and checked for bad wires and didn't find any. Does anybody know where this ground is on the car for me to check? The schematic says G402 151-22..any help would be appreciated.


http://iihs.net/fsm/?d=711&f=010%20-%20Grounds.pdf&p=9
ucinn is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:27 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.