351 Mustang

"Budget" 408 - Component Questions?

Search this Thread

Old 12-24-2007, 10:06 PM
MotoSix

Default "Budget" 408 - Component Questions?

Hi All -

I have been reading and searching for a few nights now and am heading towards a budget(ish) 408 build this summer. Coming from dual overhead cam motors however, I am new to pushrod engine designs...

I have a new-to-me '89 GT that is bone stock right now, and am looking forward to the challenge of shoe-horning that motor in my fox chassis. The car will be 100% "daily driver", stock T5 transmission, EFI, AC, must pass emissions, etc etc etc. This is not to be a race car, and honestly I won't be driving it like one. I simply want to build myself a big toy. So, I have a bunch of questions and would appreciate some ideas...

Block - I plan on running the stock computer with EFI. Does it matter what year block I get, or are they all "identical" for my purposes as long as I get an EFI distributor? 94+ is a "roller block" from what I gather, and I believe this means the push-rod to cam interface is a roller design and not a flat tappet? Like I said, I am just learning this V8 stuff...Suggestions??

Heads - I honestly do not need $1500 heads and do not mind cleaning up the ports off rough castings. Any opinions on these heads for my application?

Cam - I have zero knowledge of this in regards to V8 applications. Street car, EFI, must pass emissions. Suggestions?

Rockers - ??? 1.6 vs 1.7 vs I have no idea. Stock versus roller? Reasonably priced roller suggestions?

Pushrods - stock?

Oil Pan - What is my cheapest option for the Fox chassis? Morroso is like $300?

Headers - Suggestion? Hooker makes a Fox 351 header; who else?

Distributor - I am reading the 351 distributor is larger and longer shaft. Are the MSD (or like) ones plug compatible with the stock 5.0 wiring harness?