351 Mustang

Help with 351

Search this Thread

Old 08-04-2008, 12:46 PM
LyleStyle
2nd Gear Member

Default Help with 351

I'm new to trying to build a motor and I want to learn as much as possible. I know the basics of the motor and how it works but when it comes to what parts work well together, thats were I get lost. So I need a litte advice from you guys that know your stuff.

I have a gt now and I would like to get a 351 block and build it to around 350 to 400 hp and one day hopefully save enough money to put on a supercharger. I would also like to keep the motor fuel injected. My question is, can I use the computer from my 302 gt on the 351? If not, how do I go about getting the right computer. Do I have to get a computer to match the heads?or the intake? or the injectors? or the throttle body? cause I have no idea what combo of parts I would need on a 351 to achive 350 to 400 hp. Any advice anyone can supply on the computer and part setup combo I should use will be greatly appreciated.
Old 08-04-2008, 12:51 PM
LyleStyle
2nd Gear Member

Default RE: Help with 351

Sorry, I forgot to meantion that this is a build that will take me around a year or two to complete because I'm not rich and I'll have to buy the parts one at a time. My wife's uncle has a 351 motor that is still running that is in a 90 something model pickup truck with around 200k miles on for $200. The transmission went out on the truck and so it has been sitting for around 3 months. Are there any parts that I can keep off it or should I just totally gut the motor to the block and trash all the parts?
Old 08-04-2008, 06:02 PM
ARYANW
2nd Gear Member