Notices
4.0L V6 Technical Discussions Any questions about engine, transmission, exhaust, tuners/CAI, or gearing can be asked here!

Manual transmission Questions - suggestions?

Search this Thread

Old 07-06-2006, 01:45 AM
Explaced
1st Gear Member

Default Manual transmission Questions - suggestions?

I just rejoined the Mustang crowd with an 06 Tungsten Gray V6 manual. I'm pretty new to the manual, so I have a question or two.

*Why is reverse so hard to lock in? I got in the car, pushed in the clutch all the way, turned it on, and tried to put it in reverse and it just wouldn't go. I ran it through first and second, then put it in reverse (finally). Is there something I don't know about the manual transmission that I need to here?
*How smooth should my shifts be? Obviously third through fifth are fine, as I'm already moving along decently. First and second are a bit notchy because of their shortness I guess. How much clutch slip is OK without burning up the clutch? Sometimes I rev it around 1k-2k rpm and slip it into 1st, other times I try to let it lock in more before I give it some gas.
*Second is a little catchy as well. Should I be giving it some gas while letting out the clutch to "match up" my RPM, or should I just be letting out the clutch slower? Again, I'm afraid of burning up the clutch if I let it slip too much.

I know these are some newbie questions, but hopefully you guys can give me loads of pointers. I'm also going to see if my brother can go out with me and kind of tell me what I should/shouldn't do since he has driven manuals a lot.

So far I really like the control of the manual a lot more than the auto. I think it fits me best. Definitely in a Mustang!

Thanks all.
Old 07-06-2006, 01:57 AM
blackfoot
4th Gear Member

Default RE: Manual transmission Questions - suggestions?

for reverse. just let your foot slowlyoff the brake so you roll abit, and th gear should go in