Notices
4.0L V6 Technical Discussions Any questions about engine, transmission, exhaust, tuners/CAI, or gearing can be asked here!

Need some advice on what to do next with exhaust....

Search this Thread

Old 05-13-2011, 01:31 PM
Mustanggurl07

Default Need some advice on what to do next with exhaust....

I'm new to the thread and this is my last resort at this point, here's the deal....I have an 07 4.0L stang.....I had it dualed out w/2.5 inch piping to cat w/xpipe and first tried the flowmaster exhaust..waste of money....sounded like a riceburner!!! UGH!!! Took it to my custom shop guys....ended up putting magnaflow exhaust on, I also have it tuned, lowering spring kit and a cold air on it....the power "for a V6" is there but the sound just isn't! I have been U-Tubing 4.0 L stangs for exhaust.....considered glasspacks next and or straight pipes w/muffler deletes....if I could afford to redo the headers I would but not in my budget at this time as I'm on my 3 set of brand new tires as well....I am at a loss...with the amount of money I have invested, I probably should of bought the GT at this point because I just can not find anything that gives me the sound I'm looking for. I know it will never sound like a V8 but please.....can someone tell me what they've done to get their V6to sound bas ***....like a Mustang should???
Old 05-13-2011, 05:01 PM
conejo172
4th Gear Member

If you dont mind DRONE, the MAC Mufflers sound really good on the 4.0 a friend of mine has them on his 4.0 and they sound awesome. Another friend gave me a set of MAC's and I had them on my car for exactly 2 days and the drone drove me absolutly nuts and went right back to the GT mufflers. Im sure others will chime in
Old 05-13-2011, 07:18 PM
AmericanICON
3rd Gear Member

I went down a similar path when I had my '05 V6. I have the solution!!!