4.6L (1996-2004 Modular) Mustang Technical discussions on 1996-2004 4.6 Liter Modular Motors (2V and 4V) within.

INTAKE

Search this Thread

Old 05-19-2004, 08:34 PM
normanbaites
1st Gear Member

Default INTAKE

is there a major difference from spending 60 bucks on a ghetto cheap intake like this http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eB...category=38634
and buying a K & N intake? are name brands worth the extra 150 dollars. id love any advice, as my ebay finger is itching to just click buy, but i dont know which intake to get. im a no nothing newbie to mods, so help is greatly appreciated. oh i have a 99 gt if that makes any difference.
Old 05-19-2004, 08:42 PM
jdaniel
I ♥ Acer

Default RE: INTAKE

Dont go cheap or you will kick you're self in the end. Take a look at www.Densecharger.com. They have the best numbers in the market right now.
Old 05-19-2004, 09:26 PM
dubie76

This was the question that I asked in another posting. I too saw those intakes on Ebay. I am curious to know how they compare technically, and not by opinion.
Old 05-19-2004, 09:59 PM
Razor19
2nd Gear Member

I agree with jdaniel. Mustang 5.0 magazine did a test with 6 or 7 different cold air intakes on a stock 03 cobra. Obviously the results are gonna be much higher gain for the cobra but the gains from different manufacturers should remain quite similiar with the GT. On the cobra the Densecharger gave it to the most horsepower, the cobra gained 25 RWHP off of the densecharger alone. I also prefer plastic intakes over chromed intakes. The whole point is to make the air colder if u have a chrome intake in there that is gonna heat up way more and way faster than a plastic one will.
Old 05-19-2004, 10:51 PM
jdaniel
I ♥ Acer

ORIGINAL: Razor19