4.6L (1996-2004 Modular) Mustang Technical discussions on 1996-2004 4.6 Liter Modular Motors (2V and 4V) within.

what's the best way to build a decent motor?

Search this Thread

Old 07-18-2006, 02:12 AM
monkeydude3
6th Gear Member

Default what's the best way to build a decent motor?

I'm doing a lot of reading on this subject. Once I get some bills paid off it's time for my stang to receive a new 'heart'

I am a competant engine builder and have built a handful in my auto classes, and know if it is my engine on my time I can do great job. Of course any machining work needed I would take it to a machine shop.

My ultimate goal out of my car is to put a centrifugal supercharger on it (vortech, procharger, paxton not sure) running at least 10 psi and making around 400-500 rwhp that is still reliable and streetable when not on the boost. I'd like to have a forged crank, rods and pistons as well.

I want to know what route I should take. Should I buy a long block engine ready to go, and transfer over all the accessories? Should I buy a short block, then buy some good PI heads and throw a blower cam set in? Should I tear my engine down and reuse that block, and have all the races machined and install new internals? I'm also wondering if it would be a good idea to buy all new parts, and build the engine myself. I.E. new block, internals, heads etc.

I'm trying to find the most 'inexpensive' way to do this. I do not mean cheapest, but I mean the best bang for my buck that is likely to be still runnin strong 50k from now and involve the least headaches.

Any input is welcome, just trying to get an idea and research before I do.

George
Old 07-18-2006, 02:21 AM
rjgstang
3rd Gear Member

Default RE: what's the best way to build a decent motor?

ORIGINAL: monkeydude3

I'm doing a lot of reading on this subject. Once I get some bills paid off it's time for my stang to receive a new 'heart'