4.6L (1996-2004 Modular) Mustang Technical discussions on 1996-2004 4.6 Liter Modular Motors (2V and 4V) within.

recomendations for exhaust

Search this Thread

Old 07-22-2006, 01:24 AM
replica gt350

Default recomendations for exhaust

what headers and such would be best for a 2002 gt? i plan on flowmaster 40s already. also what tips would be best?
Old 07-22-2006, 01:25 AM
meebix
4th Gear Member

Default RE: recomendations for exhaust

Is the car 5-speed or auto?
Old 07-22-2006, 01:47 AM
PWORLDSTANG
4th Gear Member

BBK is good and doesn't cost as much as the other brands.
Old 07-22-2006, 01:57 AM
replica gt350

5spd...im still a newbie on modding so i need specifics on each item i should get...also any suggestions for front and rear brakes?
Old 07-22-2006, 02:07 AM
meebix
4th Gear Member

Ok for a 5-speed... I would say BBK Long tubes. Thats what I got and I love them, they are great quality and power. However there are real name brands out there if you want to throw around some serious money such as Kooks, which are the best, but you could also go with SLP which makes great headers too.

BBKs - $500 (Cermaic Coated)
SLPs - $720 (SS as well as Ceramic Coated - the SS is the price difference for a little better quality) I didn't think it was necessary though and I didn't have the extra money, so I went BBK.)

All depends on the quality you want and the amount of money you have to throw around.

If you get LTs though, you need a "shorty" aftermarket midpipe as well, so you have to purchase the 2 of them together. Also you said you were getting some 40's... Honestly, just spend the $300 for the catback, it will be much better off in the end. Flowmaster catbacks are dirt cheap compared to others... And with just weld-ins, your not doing the exhaust any good if your planning on gaining power as well as sound.

Old 07-22-2006, 02:34 AM
Jcelli04
2nd Gear Member