4.6L (1996-2004 Modular) Mustang Technical discussions on 1996-2004 4.6 Liter Modular Motors (2V and 4V) within.

Holy crap my GT's clutch sucks

Search this Thread

Old 10-18-2007, 07:54 PM
AJ06GT
5th Gear Member

Default Holy crap my GT's clutch sucks

So I drove my GT for the first time in a week since I got my Cobra since it was raining today, and holy crap, It's ridiculous how much different the clutches are. The Cobra is stiff and engages very quickly, the GT's clutch feels like it goes a mile and takes a mile to come out. I was trying to get out of the parking lot and I was wondering what the hell was going on when I revved and nothing happened, then I realized I still had at least a good inch or two more to let the clutch out before it engaged.

Do you think replacing the clutch in my GT would make this better? I am still relatively new to manual transmissions and don't completely how they work, so I don't know if replacing the clutch would give me a good stiff and short feel like my Cobra or if that's just how that transmission always will be. At this point it's worth replacing even if it's not necessary because if I'm going to drive both it's going to be a pain in the *** to be used to both clutches.
Old 10-18-2007, 08:25 PM
amoosenamedhank
5th Gear Member

Default RE: Holy crap my GT's clutch sucks

You should get a quadrant adjuster, that way you can set your engagement point.
Old 10-18-2007, 08:28 PM
trickdriller
4th Gear Member

Yeah man, don't replace that clutch. It's like riding a bike, you'll remember real quick how to drive your GT. And I bet when you got back into your Cobra it surprised the crap out of you didn't it? I would just keep the GT clutch in there and you'll get used to it.
Old 10-18-2007, 09:43 PM
AJ06GT
5th Gear Member

ORIGINAL: trickdriller