4.6L (1996-2004 Modular) Mustang Technical discussions on 1996-2004 4.6 Liter Modular Motors (2V and 4V) within.

do i have a tuune?

Search this Thread

Old 02-05-2009, 10:49 AM
PremiumFuelOnly

Default do i have a tuune?

My problem is that my car runs like garbage on anything but good 92 or 93, and my tail pipes get jet black. I changed plugs, it only has 60k on it.

heres the interesting part:

My registration doesnt say that i need an emmisions inspection, even though i live in an emmisons required county.

I was talking to a friend that works at an emmisions station and he said that when that usually happens it is a govt. issued car and they usually come with a tune in them.

l;m the third owner, the car originally came from texas, and then the guy i bought it off of got it from a local dealership. I know for a fact that he didnt tune it, but he did say that it runs like garbage on anything but premium.

I'm a ford mechanic, and a stae inspector, andi've never heard anything about a govt issued car, but it does clear up why i thought my car had a tune.

Has anyone else heard of govt issued cars having a tune??
Old 02-05-2009, 11:51 AM
cliffyk
TECH SAVANT

All new-edge Mustangs have a tune, they would not run otherwise. It may be that government purchased vehicles are delivered with other than the regular run of the mill OEM tune, however I would question how many new-edge Mustangs any government ever purchased--I've never seen one in the Southeast and I used to travel all over quite a bit. Any competent tuning shop will be able to download the tune and compare it to a stock tune for that boxcode.

Severe carbon buildup from its being driven only short trips, perhaps by a soccer mom, for the best part of its life could account for it's predilection toward premium fuel. Check the compression and see if it's abnormally high.