4.6L (1996-2004 Modular) Mustang Technical discussions on 1996-2004 4.6 Liter Modular Motors (2V and 4V) within.

Help! No heat and its 30 degrees

Search this Thread

Old 02-25-2009, 08:37 AM
nflea7

Default Help! No heat and its 30 degrees

I am new to mustang's, I just got my first one Sunday and I got it with the heat not working. Its a 96 4.6 GT. I ordered a blend door, but I don't know if that is the real problem or not. I hope some of the stang experts on here can point me in the right direction, because its been a very cold week so far. The air only blows defrost no matter what direction the dial is turned on. When its off I can feel heat seeping out the vent, leading me to believe its not the heater core. Is there any quick way to do some basic checks to rule out something simple? Anything that doesn't involve taking out the dash. I can't get to that until the weekend and I have a few more days of 30 degree weather until the weekend and I'm hoping it something simple. Any words of advice are appricated. Thanks
Old 02-25-2009, 08:40 AM
mustangman281
Banned

If it blows but just won't change which vent it blows out of then its the vacuum line that controls it. If it doesn't blow the it could be the switches.
Old 02-25-2009, 10:54 AM
nflea7

Scuse the pun but it blows hard, just not hot air, and it won't switch from defrost to vent, I can feel heat seeping out the vent when the blower isn't on as soon as I kick it on it blows cold. If I turn the hot and cold dial to cold the air gets colder turn it to warm air still cold but not quite as cold. The fan speed switch works fine. The switch that controls the ac/ all the way to defrost will shut off, but in any other position its blowing out of the window vent.
Old 02-25-2009, 11:16 AM
1999 GT
3rd Gear Member

the heat you can feel seeping through the vents is just heat from the engine bay
Old 02-25-2009, 11:19 AM
blee69mustang
4th Gear Member