4.6L (1996-2004 Modular) Mustang Technical discussions on 1996-2004 4.6 Liter Modular Motors (2V and 4V) within.

P0456 Error Code (Help)

Old 04-09-2009, 11:42 AM
95redv6stang
2nd Gear Member

Default P0456 Error Code (Help)

I'm new to GT's

My car recently threw a CIL with P0456 which is a fuel vapor leak or lack of purge flow in the EVAP control system.

I'm aware that it may be my gas cap or a leak in the vacum system... My car is a 2003 GT 5 speed 60k miles and completely stock.

My main question is, when my car is in neutral or the clutch is pressed in my car wants to hold at between 1400-1600 RPS for about 5-6 seconds. Would/Could these problems be linked or is this problem elsewhere?

Is this a common issue with the 4.6's?

And how do I fix it?

Thanks for you help, Chris
Old 04-09-2009, 11:57 AM
Sxynerd
6th Gear Member

Originally Posted by 95redv6stang
I'm new to GT's

My car recently threw a CIL with P0456 which is a fuel vapor leak or lack of purge flow in the EVAP control system.

I'm aware that it may be my gas cap or a leak in the vacum system... My car is a 2003 GT 5 speed 60k miles and completely stock.

My main question is, when my car is in neutral or the clutch is pressed in my car wants to hold at between 1400-1600 RPS for about 5-6 seconds. Would/Could these problems be linked or is this problem elsewhere?

Is this a common issue with the 4.6's?

And how do I fix it?

Thanks for you help, Chris
Google FTW. Search took .001 seconds

P0456 (Evaporative Emission Control System Leak Detected (small leak))

Can be an internal (leak into the engine system) or external (into the atmosphere). Examples of some external system leaks are: a loose gas cap, a disconnected evaporative system hose, or a loose hose connection.