4.6L (1996-2004 Modular) Mustang Technical discussions on 1996-2004 4.6 Liter Modular Motors (2V and 4V) within.

Exhaust what did I do wrong.

Search this Thread

Old 06-18-2009, 09:09 AM
Apollos2

Default Exhaust what did I do wrong.

First of hi to everyone. Total Mustang newbie here. My wife has a 2002 GT.
She had an intake put on it and some gears. I put on some Imco mufflers a couple of years ago, they sounded great.

I wanted to see if we could get a little more speed out of the GT with some minor exhaust upgrade but it seems to have backfired.

The wife liked the louder deeper exhaust we had a few days ago:

I had a nearby shop put an x-pipe and 2.5in pipe from the cat back. Mufflers stayed the same.

Now the car is slower and toned down on the sound. I am guessing it is the 2.5 piping size that is hurting the performance but I’m not sure. I was told the X-pipe would help the performance of the exhaust.

I’m taking the car back in ASAP to get if fixed, if nothing else I’ll go back to stock, even though I don’t want to do that.

Open to recommendations for what I can have the shop do from the cats back to help the car out. Thanks.
Old 06-18-2009, 09:21 AM
Young_Buck
2nd Gear Member

1. Does the x pipe you installed have catalytic converters?

What size inltet/outlet are your mufflers.
Old 06-18-2009, 09:28 AM
Tim99GT
4th Gear Member

Originally Posted by Apollos2
First of hi to everyone. Total Mustang newbie here. My wife has a 2002 GT.
She had an intake put on it and some gears. I put on some Imco mufflers a couple of years ago, they sounded great.

I wanted to see if we could get a little more speed out of the GT with some minor exhaust upgrade but it seems to have backfired.

The wife liked the louder deeper exhaust we had a few days ago:

I had a nearby shop put an x-pipe and 2.5in pipe from the cat back. Mufflers stayed the same.