4.6L General Discussion This section is for non-tech specific information pertaining to 4.6L (Modular) Mustangs built from 1996 to 2004.

Few n00b questions

Search this Thread

Old 03-12-2010, 08:59 PM
SideSwipe
1st Gear Member

Default Few n00b questions

Well since im completely new to these cars i thought id get some professional advice. I just picked up my 00 GT recently and want to change all the fluids as im pretty sure its never been done before. I want to change the oil, tranny fluid, rear transaxle fluid, and put in new brake fluid as well (il be doing the entire brakes). Now should i get all these fluids from the dealership or is there better stuff out there? For the oil il use Castrol Syntec 5w30. What about the rest of the stuff?

My other question is, if i ever decided to get a supercharger, will a stock one off a 03-04 Cobra bolt right in? Can the stock motor handle it, or does anything need to be changed?

Thanks
Old 03-12-2010, 09:10 PM
cliffyk
TECH SAVANT

Download an owners manual here, and use any fluids that meet the OEM specs--you'll be fine...
Old 03-12-2010, 09:16 PM
Moonshine
5th Gear Member

The BEST motor oils claim a boost of maybe a couple horsepower. Amsoil...Royal Purp...Castrol...all these expensive lubricants do the same things. Odds are you arent running a race engine. You'll be fine with the CHEVRON oil that the dealer uses.
Old 03-12-2010, 09:16 PM
SVTeeshirt
5th Gear Member

+1 to cliffyk on that.

As for the supercharger.

No, not even close, you will need to do a complete 4v swap with 99+ 4v heads an 03/04 cobra lower intake the blower timing cover tb/plenum etc etc Not to mention injectors and a fuel pump etc everything you need for supercharger power levels anyway. I have heard tork-tech(sp*?) makes an adapter kit but i belive its expensive.
Old 03-12-2010, 11:42 PM
budders
4th Gear Member

Originally Posted by Moonshine