4.6L General Discussion This section is for non-tech specific information pertaining to 4.6L (Modular) Mustangs built from 1996 to 2004.

The Debate Between Purp & Kugzy....

Search this Thread

Old 01-27-2011, 06:42 PM
PurpleIcedGT
6th Gear Member

Default The Debate Between Purp & Kugzy....

So Kugzy and I have both been considering Nitrous (100 shot) and Intercooled 2.1 Kenne Bells. Our mod plans are completely irrelevant here but we were talking on the phone and Kugzy brought up a good question, "Is 100shot or a KB more stress/strain on the stock motor?". Neither of us had any idea.....

So the debate is simple..... WHICH POWER ADDER BRINGS MORE STRESS TO THE STOCK MOTOR? A PROPERLY TUNED NITROUS SETUP OR A PROPERLY TUNED 2.1 KENNEBELL SETUP?

What are your thoughts....and why?

Last edited by PurpleIcedGT; 01-27-2011 at 06:45 PM.
Old 01-27-2011, 07:00 PM
mrtstang
6th Gear Member

Well, i've been running a 100 shot for about 3 years now, and haven't had a single issue. I have all stock parts including the clutch. I'm strongly considering the 2.1 KB as well.

Per hit of the throttle (compared to the KB) i think the nitrous is probably a bit more stressful, due to the instant hp & tq, but the blower will probably cause more overall wear over time. A twin screw will create tons of boost and power even at part throttle and whatnot. Obviously, the juice is a WOT or nothing kind of thing.

I can tell you that a strong running 100 shot will be very comparable to a 2.1 KB running 10-11 psi in terms of drag racing. I made a thread a while back where i ran a 2.1 KB 2 valve making around 415 rwhp (i was at 360 rwhp at the time) and we were almost dead even.
Old 01-27-2011, 07:18 PM
teej281
4.6L Section Moderator