4.6L General Discussion This section is for non-tech specific information pertaining to 4.6L (Modular) Mustangs built from 1996 to 2004.

Brake Job 2000 GT mustang Help

Search this Thread

Old 12-02-2012, 02:34 PM
ironwarrior

Default Brake Job 2000 GT mustang Help

Hello Folks,
I've done brakes on lots of different cars in my life, just to let you know I'm not a complete newbie.. I don't drive my mustang much and have just hit a little over 30,000 miles on it and am just about ready to dive in and do the brakes all the way around. I've read where on a 2000 GT Mustang you need a special tool to turn the brake pistons in to compress the pistons... I am used to the old school where you remove half the fluid in the reservoir and squeeze the pistons together using a old brake pad against the piston and pliers or C-Clamp. I was hoping to get some feedback from those who have done brakes on this year and the steps involved.

- Do I still need to remove half the fluid from the reservoir?
I believe I would even if you have to screw in the piston with a tool you are still compressing the fluid in the lines which will push the fluid up through the reservoir.
So to avoid fluid pushing out I would think this would still need to be done.

- Can you tell me where I can get the tool for my 2000 GT? I have seen universal kits for like 40.00 bucks on amazon, but have read where they have tools that just fit on a ratchet like a socket.. any suggestions here?

- Do you need the tool for both the front and the back brakes?

- I am just planning on having my stock rotors turned and getting a set of some ceramic pads at Autozone or Pepboys.. Is this ok, or are there better ones I should be focusing on? I just use my car for general driving, not racing.

I'm planning on tossing on a set of deep dish 18 inch cobra R wheels 285s , but think it is wise to do the brakes first..

Thanks for any help you guys can provide...
Old 12-02-2012, 02:58 PM
LilRoush
6th Gear Member