4.6L General Discussion This section is for non-tech specific information pertaining to 4.6L (Modular) Mustangs built from 1996 to 2004.

Recommendations

Search this Thread

Old 11-17-2016, 07:30 AM
beardednuke

Default Recommendations

I am new to the 4.6 world, the last mustang I ever worked on and had was a 1988 LX hatchback 5.0. I could use some advice, I am not looking at making extreme horsepower. I am going to be rebuilding my engine and having my transmission rebuilt along with a new clutch. The Mustang I am working on now is a 2001 Mustang GT 5 Speed. Basically what I want is a little extra pep in its step but have a good noticeable cam sound, but stay within the limits of my transmission. I have not looked at what gears are in but assuming it is all stock other than the flowmasters. Starting to buy the parts to do the rebuild, should I stay stock other than the cam or upgrade some of the parts? Any recommendation would be greatly appreciated. I am new to the forum my name is Eddie I live in Texas. I am retired military after almost 21 yrs and this is going to be my gift to myself. LOL
Old 11-17-2016, 10:52 AM
Z28KLR
4th Gear Member

If just looking to make modest power that will result in a quick/fun street car then a set of (most manufacturer's) "stage 2" cams ought to do it. Nothing wrong with Comp Cams, although there are many others that are arguably a little better for one reason or another. MHS and CMS to name a couple. I'll be buying from www.modularheadshop.com when the time comes.