Notices
4.6L V8 Technical Discussions Any questions about engine, transmission, or gearing can be asked here!

How much power can a stock gt hold?

Search this Thread

Old 06-17-2010, 07:36 PM
zaksturbo

Question How much power can a stock gt hold?

Im kinda new to mustangs, but i was curious to see what the 05 to 09 gt motors could hold on stock internals, i know that the older cobras were said to be able to hold 7-900 give or take, are the 05-09 gt's about the same? I wanna make somewhere in the 600's.
Old 06-17-2010, 07:49 PM
FastDEW
3rd Gear Member

Forget 600 hp on stock block. Look for a built motor if you want more than 500.
Old 06-17-2010, 08:14 PM
Blacksmoke
The Paranoid One

03-04 Cobras were forged.

We aint.
I myself would'nt even go 500 without beefing up the internals.
Old 06-17-2010, 10:21 PM
dkersten
2nd Gear Member

The crank itself can handle 550-600, but it gets tricky figuring out what you have at the crank.. I say at the crank, and not at the flywheel, because many things run off the crank that you won't see if measuring at the flywheel. If you run FI (a must to get over 380rwhp), the type of FI is very much the determining factor on how much power you can get out of the engine. Turbos have almost no parasitic loss, so the boost does a lot more.. you can run 8-9 psi of boost on a turbo and see 500 rwhp, which equates to about 575 HP at the flywheel. Perfectly safe on the stock motor assuming you have a solid tune. On the other hand, 8-9 psi on a roots style will get you about 425 rwhp, and a centri or twin screw will get about 440-450 rwhp at that boost level, and in every case the crank is seeing the same amount of power. The water pump, alternator, and even the weight of the pullies and belt all are parasitic losses that the crank sees but the flywheel doesn't.