Notices
4.6L V8 Technical Discussions Any questions about engine, transmission, or gearing can be asked here!

Intake Manifold Gasket Leak

Search this Thread

Old 10-19-2010, 10:18 AM
Blaksta0nine0

Default Intake Manifold Gasket Leak

Hey guys I'm new to the Mustang Forums here, but, just had to put my car in the shop because it's been running a little sluggish, and getting crud for gas, the mechanic told me that my Intake Manifold Gasket is leaking...

How serious can this be?

I drive a 2006 Mustang GT 4.6L
Old 10-19-2010, 10:20 AM
Blaksta0nine0

also, couldn't find the edit button, sorry for the double post.

I installed a non-tuned (advertised no need for tune) BBK CAI installed as well if that makes a difference...
Old 10-19-2010, 11:15 AM
dysan
2nd Gear Member

The intake manifold has one gasket for each cylinder and they are fairly easy to do. Have you tried putting the stock airbox back on to test? I would do that, and while you're swapping the stock one back on, unhook the negative battery terminal so the car re-learns it's idle & fuel trims.

Take it out for a drive and see if that helps.

As for the no-tune-needed CAI's I never believe that. There's been a few who have tried them and found out that their air/fuel ratio had leaned out because of it.
Old 10-19-2010, 11:26 AM
Blaksta0nine0

Yeah...about the Stock intake....It's been gone for about a year lol...as far as the tune goes, the exhaust does sound like a cleaner rumble once I put the intake on, but didn't really notice any torque gains, and lower fuel economy. Which to my understanding should be the opposite...