Notices
4.6L V8 Technical Discussions Any questions about engine, transmission, or gearing can be asked here!

Aftermarket cam durability, and other secondary questions

Search this Thread

Old 02-08-2011, 02:34 PM
Throck!

Default Aftermarket cam durability, and other secondary questions

I recently ordered the detroit rocker (blower grind) cams and pypes headers/H pipe from Brenspeed, I have not yet installed either. I have Brenspeed's E-Force Stage 1 installed.

I have a couple questions I decided to ask here instead of calling Brenspeed again because other people may have the same questions and maybe multiple view points will spur more questions. I have been browsing multiple mustang forums for a few months and have not come accross references to these questions, though I'll probably find the answers right after I post this.

1. Is there a break-in routine for 3V cams like older V8s?
2. Do aftermarket cams last as long as stock (if installed and run correctly)?
3. Why do you need to remove 3 followers on each side before you remove the cams? To eliminate binding/breakage while lifting bearing caps?
4. Does anyone have any knowledge of fuel economy after installing these cams?

Headers - It took a camaro guy to explain to me (in one minute) why headers make power. I thought it was only because it helped scavenge exhaust out of the cylinder, creating a cleaner A/F mixture to burn...turns out it takes power to push exhaust out the exhaust system. Reducing headloss through the exhaust system reduces the effort needed to push the exhaust out of the cylinders, thereby freeing up power (kinda like UDPs), and reducing stress on the rods. Not sure why I didn't put that together earlier.

I understand headers and cams won't give that much more power, but it will sound much better and create less strain on the connecting rods...besides, I'm not sure I want to push much more power anyway on a stock short block.