5.0L (1979-1995) Mustang Technical discussions on 5.0 Liter Mustangs within. This does not include the 5.0 from the 2011 Mustang GT. That information is in the 2005-1011 section.

Head question.

Search this Thread

Old 06-01-2006, 08:01 PM
jasonc84
1st Gear Member

Default Head question.

Im very new to mustangs just got my 89 notch about a month ago, mods on it are ported stock heads,f-303 cam,equal length headers,2 1/2 flowmaster exhaust,upper and lower typhoon intake manifold,MSD blaster coil,8mm motorsport plug wires,acccufab fuel pressure regulator, rebuilt worldclass t-5 tranny w/ pro 5.0 shifter,eibach drag springs,weld in frame connectors, 5 lug w/ 4 wheel disc brakes,3.55 POSI rearend, 18s with 275s. I'm just curious how much of a difference would aftermarket heads make?? I'm also curious what other power adders i can get that aren't huge money, i'm thinking intake because its still got the stock one on there.
Old 06-01-2006, 08:08 PM
myshifter
I ♥ Acer

Default RE: Head question.

heads would make a massive difference, that F cam on a slightly better than stock like yours are is a tad much, not to mention its a single profile cam doesnt help. How does run right now?
Old 06-01-2006, 08:17 PM
mcfomco
3rd Gear Member

I have never been found of a letter cam myself cant see why everyone like then so much IMO. But yes a good set of aftermarket heads would make a difference to your liking just dont go overboard and over do the rest of the combo try to match it all up.
Old 06-01-2006, 08:23 PM
myshifter
I ♥ Acer

ORIGINAL: mcfomco

I have never been found of a letter cam myself cant see why everyone like then so much IMO. But yes a good set of aftermarket heads would make a difference to your liking just dont go overboard and over do the rest of the combo try to match it all up.