2 cylenders running rich - MustangForums.com

Notices
5.0L (1979-1995) Mustang Technical discussions on 5.0 Liter Mustangs within. This does not include the 5.0 from the 2011 Mustang GT. That information is in the 2005-1011 section.

2 cylenders running rich

Reply

 
 
 
Old 07-14-2006, 04:36 PM
  #1  
Jester331
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 7
Default 2 cylenders running rich

Hey there, got a problem cant seem to figure out.
My #2 & #4 plugs are fouling out. Bad. The other 6 are running good.

I switched the injectors, and plugs, and it still on the same 2 cylenders. I mannualy pressurized the intake system to 20pis and no leaks. Spark is good. Compression test matched the other cylenders with only a 2% difference between all eight. I am kind of stumped. Any Ideas?

Here are a list of the mods.
93 hard top
331ci
level 10 dss machine work on block
h beam rods
Probe dised -14cc pistons
gasket matched y303 heads
e cam
performer rpm intake
long tubes
main girdle
7 qt road race pan
windage tray
spec 4 clutch
3.73 gear
alum driveshaft & flywheel
t56 6 speed
42# injectors
76 mass air
NGK v plugs heat range 7
vortech t trim 15-18 psi
AFM powere pipe
255l fuel pump
trex fuel pump
msd 6462 btm
9mm wires
msd coil
Jester331 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2006, 04:40 PM
  #2  
2 kwik
I ♥ Acer
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location:
Posts: 5,116
Default RE: 2 cylenders running rich

well you checked the fuel side I guess..have you chacked you plug wires? dist cap?..also you injector leads could be bad
2 kwik is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2006, 04:45 PM
  #3  
Jester331
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 7
Default RE: 2 cylenders running rich

Checked the wires (switched them around), cap and rotor are new as well. plugs are gapped at .33 as well to prevend high pressure blowout. fuel pressure is set to about 43 static.
Jester331 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2006, 05:05 PM
  #4  
FiveLiterRiceEater
5th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location:
Posts: 2,524
Default RE: 2 cylenders running rich

so you said you checked the power and and ground for the injector? if 2 cylinders only are running rich it would most likely be a leaking injector on those 2 cylinders. but you ruled that out. the only other thing i could think is the eec is pulsing those 2 injectors too often, and i wouldnt know why it would think to do that? are you running o2 sensors on your exhaust set up?
FiveLiterRiceEater is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2006, 05:07 PM
  #5  
boss429
3rd Gear Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location:
Posts: 792
Default RE: 2 cylenders running rich


ORIGINAL: Jester331

Checked the wires (switched them around), cap and rotor are new as well. plugs are gapped at .33 as well to prevend high pressure blowout. fuel pressure is set to about 43 static.

arent 5.0 plugs supposed to be gapped around .55?
boss429 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2006, 05:09 PM
  #6  
r.barn
6th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location:
Posts: 5,263
Default RE: 2 cylenders running rich

not with a blower

ORIGINAL: boss429


ORIGINAL: Jester331

Checked the wires (switched them around), cap and rotor are new as well. plugs are gapped at .33 as well to prevend high pressure blowout. fuel pressure is set to about 43 static.

arent 5.0 plugs supposed to be gapped around .55?
r.barn is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2006, 05:13 PM
  #7  
Jester331
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 7
Default RE: 2 cylenders running rich

I am running a new 02 sensor on 1 through 4 side. If an adjustment was being made by the eec for an 02 issue, I would think it would be on 1 through 4, not just 2 and for.

I do think the eec is almost double firing those two injectors as I listend to them with a stehescope (sp?) before and after I switched the injectors to different locations.




gap on boosted cars should be less to prevent spark blowout.

Keep the ideas comming.....

Jester331 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2006, 05:16 PM
  #8  
boss429
3rd Gear Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location:
Posts: 792
Default RE: 2 cylenders running rich


ORIGINAL: r.barn

not with a blower

ORIGINAL: boss429


ORIGINAL: Jester331

Checked the wires (switched them around), cap and rotor are new as well. plugs are gapped at .33 as well to prevend high pressure blowout. fuel pressure is set to about 43 static.

arent 5.0 plugs supposed to be gapped around .55?
haha i guess i should take time to read he's running 18psi!
haha my bad everyone
boss429 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2006, 05:21 PM
  #9  
FiveLiterRiceEater
5th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location:
Posts: 2,524
Default RE: 2 cylenders running rich


ORIGINAL: Jester331

I am running a new 02 sensor on 1 through 4 side. If an adjustment was being made by the eec for an 02 issue, I would think it would be on 1 through 4, not just 2 and for.

I do think the eec is almost double firing those two injectors as I listend to them with a stehescope (sp?) before and after I switched the injectors to different locations.




gap on boosted cars should be less to prevent spark blowout.

Keep the ideas comming.....

yeah. its probably not an 02 sensor adjustment. try a putting a noid light on them and see if the eec is powering that injector when it shouldnt be i guess.
FiveLiterRiceEater is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2006, 09:31 PM
  #10  
Jester331
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 7
Default RE: 2 cylenders running rich

Bump
Jester331 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: 2 cylenders running rich


Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.