5.0L (1979-1995) Mustang Technical discussions on 5.0 Liter Mustangs within. This does not include the 5.0 from the 2011 Mustang GT. That information is in the 2005-1011 section.

smoking the tires

Search this Thread

Old 10-17-2006, 10:02 PM
ryan_89_mustang
4th Gear Member

Default smoking the tires

I am just wondering how everyone smokes there tires weather they do brake stands or just rev high and drop the clutch? I would just like to curious, I am still new to my stang and am wondering how exactly to peel out leaving a nice trail of smoke.
Old 10-17-2006, 10:13 PM
AdderMk2
Banned

Default RE: smoking the tires

try stepping on the gas
Old 10-17-2006, 10:14 PM
Pure5.0
3rd Gear Member

[sm=WTFsgign.gif]

You could dump some oil in the gas tank. That would give you a trail of smoke where ever you go.
Old 10-17-2006, 10:16 PM
frankbullitt
2nd Gear Member

Automatic is easy. Just step on the brakes and the gas at the same time. Manual is a little more tricky. Put it in first and rev. Once you drop the clutch your left foot has to get to the brake quickly but on hard or it will stall. Motor Trend wrote a how to on this. Search on google, but thats pretty much it.
Old 10-17-2006, 10:18 PM
FordRacing302
1st Gear Member

ORIGINAL: frankbullitt

Automatic is easy. Just step on the brakes and the gas at the same time. Manual is a little more tricky. Put it in first and rev. Once you drop the clutch your left foot has to get to the brake quickly but on hard or it will stall. Motor Trend wrote a how to on this. Search on google, but thats pretty much it.
Istead of doing that with a manual, I just heel/toe the brake and gas pedal. It works alot better, But I rather just rev it and dump the clutch
Old 10-17-2006, 10:19 PM
Pure5.0
3rd Gear Member