5.0L (1979-1995) Mustang Technical discussions on 5.0 Liter Mustangs within. This does not include the 5.0 from the 2011 Mustang GT. That information is in the 2005-1011 section.

winter handling

Search this Thread

Old 10-26-2006, 08:47 PM
ryan_89_mustang
4th Gear Member

Default winter handling

I am still new to my mustang and haven't driven it in snow yet. I hear alot of talk about them not doing that great in the snow, but how bad is it exactly. Anyone who drives theres in the snow on a regular basis any info about how to keep between the ditches would be appreciated. It's also a 5 speed
Old 10-26-2006, 09:19 PM
reduceallpain
2nd Gear Member

Default RE: winter handling

never got to snow yet in mine either.. but judging by the way it handles on cold ground and rain... snow will just cause disaster.. i regret buying my mustang before winter but it was a great deal couldn't pass it up and couldn't afford two cars on the road.. you won't crash it if u drive it like a grandpa.. no promises.. if u can try not to drive it when it snows if you dont wanna crash it.. my back end goes out on me when i hit the gas just a little!! just on cold ground... so be careful
Old 10-26-2006, 09:28 PM
ryan_89_mustang
4th Gear Member

Is that even with good tires?
Old 10-26-2006, 09:43 PM
reduceallpain
2nd Gear Member

yup my tires are pratically brand new.. 80-90% tread left.. its cause the cars are so light no weight in the back.. search on here or google about mustangs in the winter.. i heard there the most worst cars to be driven in the snow.
Old 10-26-2006, 09:44 PM
AdderMk2
Banned

heres a few tips towards driving a mustang in the snow.

Rule 1. DON'T
Rule 2. If any doubt arrises... refer to rule 1.
Old 10-26-2006, 09:51 PM
ryan_89_mustang
4th Gear Member

well not driving it isn't an option seeing how it is my daily driver. Does anyone know if i could just put a 100-200 pounds of something in the back would make a difference?
Old 10-26-2006, 09:55 PM
quickGT