5.0L (1979-1995) Mustang Technical discussions on 5.0 Liter Mustangs within. This does not include the 5.0 from the 2011 Mustang GT. That information is in the 2005-1011 section.

Common issues with Fox GT's

Search this Thread

Old 10-30-2006, 01:41 PM
joebrez

Default Common issues with Fox GT's

Hey guys,

I am new to the American Muscle scene, but after spending about 10 years tuning "rice rockets", and I have turned my interest to the late 80's early 90's GT Convertibles. I am currently looking @ an 87 GT Conv. w\ 107K (Auto Trans) that is kinda rough on the body. Mechanically it seems pretty tight, except for a power steering leak, which in itself seems to haunt many Ford owners.

I am not looking to run at the strip. I am looking for a fun weekend ride (Won't be daily driver).

So my question is this, in the years for which I am looking, what are common problems with the car.

Thanks Guys for any help with this...
Old 10-30-2006, 01:53 PM
4fit?
4th Gear Member

Default RE: Common issues with Fox GT's

Not really any "problems" persay. The 87 would be a Speed Density car which makes it a little more difficult to do things such as cam changes. You can convert it over to mass air relatively easily though, if you should decide to do that. There are some very quick speed density cars out there. The gears are very high (numerically low) and need to be changed as one of your first mods.
Old 10-30-2006, 01:58 PM
Chuy1988
2nd Gear Member

Default RE: Common issued with Early Fox GT's

You can't really say what the common problem is on Fox's cause every car is treated differently and gone thru different experiences. What I recommend is you do a full tune up on it and fliud change that way you know where you car stands as far as fluids and tune up. Change the tranny oil and work from there. Get the basics out of the way, then it's easier to work on your car.
As far as electrical goes same thing all depends on the owner before on he/she treated the car.