5.0L (1979-1995) Mustang Technical discussions on 5.0 Liter Mustangs within. This does not include the 5.0 from the 2011 Mustang GT. That information is in the 2005-1011 section.

I'm new to 5.0's and I want advice.

Search this Thread

Old 11-25-2006, 12:45 AM
sirkus

Default I'm new to 5.0's and I want advice.

This is pretty much my first post, so let me begin with, My name is Eric.. I live in North Georgia. I have a 94 GT 5spd (pic in the sig) with 140k miles on it. I just recently traded a sr20det 240sx for this car. I've always loved the 5.0 engine. I mainly traded for the fact that there is more potential power from the 302.. the sr20 was pretty much maxed out at 16psi 290hp/302tq. I had it for a little while. But now I'm really looking into modding this stang. I don't really know much about the 302 other than basic stuff. I was wondering if some people could answer a few of my questions about stuff that I'm looking to do.

I was told that it is pretty much pointless to mod the engine at 140k miles because I'm loosing power just becuase of the milage. I was told that my best bet would be to rebuild the engine and have it bored over to a 306, a new set of heads and a Trickflow intake. Guy told me that with the right cam I could put down around 350.. Now... He also said that the work would run around 5K+ I could take 1k off of that if I pulled my own engine.