5.0L (1979-1995) Mustang Technical discussions on 5.0 Liter Mustangs within. This does not include the 5.0 from the 2011 Mustang GT. That information is in the 2005-1011 section.

Looking for advice/info on '88 GT I'm looking to buy

Search this Thread

Old 09-25-2004, 05:27 PM
wildswing

Default Looking for advice/info on '88 GT I'm looking to buy

Hi fellas,

I'm a newbie here in the 5.0 forum. This a kinda long, but it takes some 'splainin and I've tried to include as many questions as I can think of right now...

THE SET UP:

I'm looking for a Fox body for a daily summer driver that may possibly become more of a ground pounder later on or maybe even become the donor for a Factory Five Racing cobra replica.

Lately, I have been eyeballing a 1988 GT for sale locally (I'm in the Soo). The current owner is just a casual seller. Doesn't really want to sell it but needs to make room for a new project. Real car nut. Garage currently has the GT, a late 60s Cougar, a wild supercharged Fiero and someting else under a tarp. Says he bought the GT about a year ago from out of town who babied it. Never winter driven and says it's been oil sprayed every fall.

- 5.0 HO 5 spd hatchback with 155k kms (93k miles).
- No significant rust anywhere. Even the rockers and sills are blister free. All original paint except for a poorly done touch up on the rear left quarter.
- I took it for a drive. No creaks or rattles. Engine feels healthy and gearbox is smooth. I can't feel any slip in the clutch.
- He's asking $5500 CAD ($4300 USD). Looking at online ads in Auto Trader for Ontario, that seems to be about right.
- underbody/undercarriage is free of the corn flakes type rusty leprosy common to cars around here that have not been taken care of and winter driven (like my truck). There's just the slightest hint of surface rust on parts underneath.