5.0L (1979-1995) Mustang Technical discussions on 5.0 Liter Mustangs within. This does not include the 5.0 from the 2011 Mustang GT. That information is in the 2005-1011 section.

Driving before a tune?

Search this Thread

Old 01-16-2007, 01:24 PM
LTnone
4th Gear Member

Default Driving before a tune?

When spring hits this engine is gonna be a new beast, and obviously will need a tune pretty bad. However, I've got brand new gears and a new clutch installed, and want to drive it a bit and give it 200 miles or so to break everything in before stomping on it. Question is, is there any danger in driving it this much without a tune? It would be 200 easy miles, just to get everything broken in...anything wrong with that idea?
Old 01-16-2007, 01:35 PM
FordMustangXBA
4th Gear Member

Default RE: Driving before a tune?

I have been driving mine for 6 months or so since the heads and cam were done...I get worse than normal gas mileage but other than that I haven't noticed anything...except I know that I can get quite a bit more power with a good tune.
Old 01-16-2007, 01:48 PM
PRO50SC
The Rogue Mod

As long as it's running ok and you don't beat on it you should be OK!!! I def wouldn't go WOT though.
Old 01-16-2007, 01:50 PM
pizzarolls
2nd Gear Member

u just run the chance of going to lean or too rich at WOT.....and we all now where it goes from there.
Old 01-16-2007, 02:24 PM
vristang
4th Gear Member

ORIGINAL: LTnone

When spring hits this engine is gonna be a new beast, and obviously will need a tune pretty bad. However, I've got brand new gears and a new clutch installed, and want to drive it a bit and give it 200 miles or so to break everything in before stomping on it. Question is, is there any danger in driving it this much without a tune? It would be 200 easy miles, just to get everything broken in...anything wrong with that idea?
You don't really say what the motor build is so how can we answer this question?